Areas in Lebanon to build with no permits required

on March 30, 2020

Every couple of years, a circular is issued by the Ministry of Interior and Municipalities that allows a person to build a house less than 150m2 square without a permit. We have discussed the last circular in our previous blog post, check it out if you have not read it:

You need to fill an application and provide a list of papers to the municipality. The permit does not cover all areas in Lebanon only the municipalities and not areas that are directly under a certain district. The areas that are not covered are provided below:

Beirut Governorate


Mount Lebanon Governorate

Baabda (Baabda)

Aley (Aley)

Matn (Jdeideh)

Keserwan (Jounieh)

Chouf (Beiteddine)

Jbeil (Byblos)

North Governorate

Tripoli (Tripoli)

Akkar (Halba)

Zgharta (Zgharta / Ehden)

Bsharri (Bsharri)

Batroun (Batroun)

Koura (Amioun)

Miniyeh-Danniyeh District (MiniyehDanniyeh) (Minyeh / Sir Ed-Danniyeh)

Beqaa Governorate

Baalbek (Baalbek)

Hermel (Hermel)

Zahle (Zahlé)

Rashaya (Rashaya)

Western Beqaa (Jebjennine / Saghbine)

South Governorate

Sidon (Sidon)

Jezzine (Jezzine)

Tyre (Tyre)

Nabatiye Governorate

Nabatiyeh (Nabatiyeh)

Marjeyoun (Marjeyoun)

Hasbaya (Hasbaya)

Bint Jbeil (Bint Jbeil)